Board of Governors

The Governing Board

Welbeck, The Defence Sixth Form College is a Ministry of Defence institution which is operated as a sixth-form college on their behalf by the Minerva Consortium through a Public Private Partnership contract -  Pearson TQ is the contractor responsible to Minerva for the provision of all education services and Interserve Defence Limited (IDL) is responsible to Minerva for the soft services and for the maintenance of the fabric and facilities of the College; the Defence Academy is the responsible body on behalf of the MOD.

The Governing Board, working within the remit of the Governors’ Charter, includes amongst others, representative senior Armed Forces personnel, civilian representatives (including education specialists), individuals with technical and industrial experience, and representatives of Minerva. The Board acts in an advisory capacity, rather than as an executive body, on best practice for the delivery of the education and pastoral services.  Full meetings of the  Governing Board take place each term and in addition there are termly meetings of the Curriculum and  Pastoral Sub-Committees.

The Board of Governors

Air Vice Marshal Chris Luck


Major General David Eastman

Vice Chair

Commander S J Blackburn


Air Commodore Adrian Burns

RAF Governor

Mr Duncan Byrne

Civilian Governor

Mr Geoff Feavyour

Civilian Governor


Brigadier Simon Banton

Army Governor

Professor Alison Hodge

Civilian Governor

Mr Mark Humphries

Defence Equipment & Support Governor

Mr Martyn Leader

Pearson TQ Governor

Lt Col Caroline Lewin

Old Welbexian Association Governor

Miss Ann Lyon

Civilian Governor

Mr Steve Mallion

Minerva Governor

Rear Admiral Paul Marshall

Royal Navy Governor

Acting Vice Chair

Mr Paul Sykes

Child Protection Governor

Chair Curriculum Sub-Committee


Mr Peter Middleton



Lieutenant Commander Ross Duncan


The Chair of the Governing Board can be contacted c/o:

The Secretary to the Board of Governors
Defence Technical Officer and Engineer Entry Scheme (DTOEES)
Defence Academy of the United Kingdom
Marlborough Hall
Tel No: 01793 785443

In this section