University and Degree Choices

Defence Technical Undergraduate Scheme (DTUS)

All students who enter university on the DTUS scheme must study at a DTUS University and study an approved DTUS course. Students will be paid an annual bursary, provided they meet the bursary payment criteria, such as academic success and the required physical fitness standard.

Each student will be mentored by a support unit (squadron). Students will be supported in their studies by the squadron and will attend training on a regular basis for which they will receive training pay.

The DTUS universities and squadrons are:

  • Aston - Taurus Squadron
  • Birmingham - Taurus Squadron
  • Cambridge - Typhoon Squadron
  • Imperial College – Thunderer Squadron
  • Loughborough - Typhoon Squadron
  • Newcastle- Trojan Squadron
  • Northumbria - Trojan Squadron
  • Oxford - Taurus Squadron
  • Portsmouth – Thunderer Squadron
  • Southampton - Thunderer Squadron
  • Strathclyde - Trojan Squadron

The degrees on offer to the students depends upon which branch of the services they  are sponsored by, and in the case of the Army, which Corps they are hoping to join. The courses are all STEM (Science Technology, Engineering and Maths) based.

The UCAS Application System

All applications to university are made through the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS).  MOD students must apply for Defence Technological Undergraduate Scheme (DTUS) approved courses.  Private students can apply freely to any university and course that they wish to follow.

  • May/June (Year 12) -  An updated list of DTUS Approved degree courses is published by DTOEES for Year 12 students who will apply to university in the following year.
  • July (Year 12) - The DTUS Universities deliver an information open day at the College for all Year 12 students.
  • Summer Term (Year 12) and Autumn Term (Year 13):  Visits arranged by the College to DTUS University open days.
  • July - September (Year 12-13):  At the end of Year 12, students are advised on the university application process.  Supported by their tutor, they register with UCAS and write their personal statement. 
  • September – November (Year 13):  Students apply for a maximum of five courses. The deadline for applications is mid-September for Oxbridge applicants, and late October for everyone else.
  • Spring Term (Year 13):  Students confirm their Firm and Insurance choices following consultation with their tutors. 
  • A level Results Day - August (Year 13): If students have achieved their Firm choice they must follow that course. The only exception to this will be if students have done significantly better than expected then they may be able to apply for another higher tariff course through “Adjustment”.  If students fail to gain a place on their Firm choice but are accepted by their Insurance choice then they must accept this offer. If they are rejected by both then they should contact the College on results day to discuss what options are available through ‘Clearing’.  Only courses on the approved course list should be considered.  Courses available through both Adjustment and Clearing should be accepted only following College and DTOEES approval.

Please note: Students who are domiciled and/or educated overseas (currently those from outside the UK/EU)  should be aware that universities will undertake a fees assessment once applications are received and that failure to meet the criteria regarding residency in the UK/EU may result in them being classified as an international student.  Please note that fees for International students are often significantly higher than the fees for UK based students.  In addition students domiciled and/or educated outside the UK/EU may not qualify for a loan from Student Finance.  This may be the case even where students have UK citizenship.  It is, therefore, prudent for students from overseas to check the financial implications of taking a place at a UK university in advance of applying to Welbeck.